Hello world!

meMy name is Andrea Seeger and I’m an Army Wife.  Funny how that sounds like it was pulled right out of a support group meeting.  Monotone voices saying, “Hi, Andrea” in stereo pass through my mind when I say that.  But I guess that’s how it is when you marry into the military.  It ends up defining you in some way.  Not that I think it’s a bad thing, by any means.  I wear the title of Army Wife like a badge of courage, and when I say it out loud a little part of me wants to scream “beat that!”

soldier“My husband, my soldier, my hero”  is the saying we’re most aware of as military spouses.  For the most part, I do agree.  Before my husband left for his deployment, I’d say that was my motto.  In the year he’s been gone, however, I also feel that I have become my own hero in all that I’ve accomplished and overcome in his absence.  I am so proud of all my husband does for his family and his country, but you know what?  I’m pretty awesome too.

rach-and-hondoMy husband is a soldier in the NY Army National Guard and has been deployed for just about one year.  We are the proud parents of Rachel, our two year old little girl, and Hondo, our four year old doggie.  I guess the more correct term for myself would be “Army National Guard Wife”, but that’s such a mouth full!  And besides, my husband does his guard job as a civilian DOD employee full time when he’s home….so I’m an Army wife, darn it!  I spend most of my time working from home, volunteering for the FRG (Family Readiness Group for you civilians), and finding new ways to be the coolest mommy ever.  I’m a lemons to lemonade kind of gal, although this mindset has been challenged a few times throughout the course of the deployment. 

I’m writing this blog to share the trials and tribulations of being an Army Wife in New York’s Capital Region.  If you’re looking for a sob story about how tough life is, look elsewhere!  But if you’re looking for a real perspective on life as a military spouse, then stay tuned.  I hope you take this journey with me as I share my experiences and opinions with a light hearted sense of humor (most of the time).  I make no apologies for who I am or how I feel.  Be prepared, as I’m a realist who says what she thinks and doesn’t pull any punches!Bring it!

Leave a Reply

